BizParentz Foundation

Supporting families of children working in the entertainment industry

New Jersey

Return to State Laws - Child Actors main page

CHILD LABOR LAWS

There is no minimum age requirement for children working in motion pictures and television programs. However, out-of-state minors under the age of 16 must procure a Special Theatrical Permit from the local issuing officer in the school district in which a production is being filmed. In-state minors must procure a Special Theatrical Permit from the local issuing officer in the school district where they live. Said minors can work no longer than 5 hours daily, 24 hours weekly, 6 days a week. Combined hours of school and work must not exceed 8 hours daily. Minors under 16 are prohibited from working before 7 a.m. or after 11:30 p.m. unless special permission has been granted by the Department of Labor, at the request of the New Jersey Motion Picture and Television Commission. Minors under 16 must be accompanied at all times by an adult who is a parent, guardian or representative of the employer.


Minors between the ages of 16 and 18 can work as long as 8 hours daily, 40 hours weekly, 6 days a week. They must obtain an Employment Certificate from the local issuing officer in the district in which a production is being filmed. Minors between the ages of 16 and 18 are prohibited from working before 6 a.m. or after 11:30 p.m. unless special permission has been granted by the Department of Labor, at the request of the New Jersey Motion Picture and Television Commission. In order to obtain a Special Theatrical Permit or Employment Certificate, applicant must supply a physician's letter stating that the minor is in good health, proof of birth in the form of a birth certificate or passport, and a completed permit form signed by the child's parent or guardian. During the regular school year, a report card or letter from school must also be provided as proof that the minor is in good academic standing.


MINORS WORKING FOR ONE DAY OR LESS MAY OBTAIN AN EMERGENT THEATRICAL PERMIT by application to the New Jersey Motion Picture and Television Commission. Information on how to obtain this permit may be obtained by clicking on the EMERGENT THEATRICAL PERMIT link below.


For more information about the Child Labor Law and/or instructions on how to contact local issuing officers, contact the New Jersey Motion Picture and Television Commission at 973-648-6279. Source: http://www.njfilm.org/

CHILD LABOR LAW

NJ Child Labor Law abstract (PDF)

Child Labor Law (PDF)

Directions for obtaining child labor permits

Obtaining Formal Theatrical Permits For Minors

Obtaining Emergent Theatrical Permits For Minors

Forms

A310 (PDF)

A300 (PDF)

NJ Theatrical Production Application (PDF)

Additional contact information:

Mr. Theadore Easton (preferably) at the NJDOL or Lorraine Blake, if he is not available 609 292-1162 Or by email, copy both emails below:


Note: Special thanks to J.P. for sharing her template with us!